Notices

Exhaust Tip Change

Old 12-10-2007, 04:58 PM
Registered

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Exhaust Tip Change

Thinking of switching out the original rubber hose exhaust tips (with rubber flappers) for some 4" stainless angle tips. How hard is this to do?? The stainless tips mount with screws into the transom...the stock just run right through with the flappers clamped on. I'm new to boats and not very mechanical. Based on the pics below, can anyone tell me what I would need to do and how to do it? The boat runs Silent Choice if that makes a difference.
Attached Thumbnails Exhaust Tip Change-dominator1.jpg   Exhaust Tip Change-dominator3.jpg  

Last edited by Ryan8886; 12-10-2007 at 05:04 PM.
Old 12-10-2007, 05:17 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

get a thin putty knife and take some time working around the flange while not damaging the gelcoat. Once thats done use a twisting motion to loosen it up and pull them out.
Old 12-10-2007, 05:17 PM
Charter Member #928
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

You have flexible tubing now, you better check the alignment of the cut outs on the transom first. If they are off a little you might have to glass those in to get a correct fit. You won't notice it as much now with 18" of flex pipe. Just a thought.
Old 12-10-2007, 06:03 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by wigginout
You have flexible tubing now, you better check the alignment of the cut outs on the transom first. If they are off a little you might have to glass those in to get a correct fit. You won't notice it as much now with 18" of flex pipe. Just a thought.
The center section is stainless steel (part of the Silent Choice). So it's not 18" of flex pipe...just the two ends on either side of the pipe. Alignment still an issue or not??
Old 12-10-2007, 06:11 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by Playn