If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
    My Boats:
    '77 Hornet II

Galvanizing: hot dipped versus cold spray

I imagine hot-dipped is the best for all around protection. But I'm really wondering what the consesus is on "galvanizing in a can." I picked up a can of Rustoleum brand to try on some parts. So far only sprayed it on the backing plates of a buddy's disc brake trailer; haven't dunked it in the salt yet. But it looked real nice and shiny!

Would the cold spray work on things like non-galvinized hubs, updating galvanized wheels, trailer brackets, etc.?

My Boats:
    14' go-devil mud boat 22' Apache Scout
    Chalmette,Ponchatoula, Louisiana
    I work in the water/wastewater industry and use hypochlorite (bleach) and gas chlorine alot. The were eating all of the mounts for our pumps. I had the welder fab some mounts and sandblasted them. As soon as i cleaned the sand off of them i sprayed them with some cold gal. spray and they lasted longer than anything we were buying! You have to compare and make sure you buy the stuff with the high zinc content.

Platinum Member Platinum Member CigDaze's Avatar
    My Boats:
    Cigarette 35 Cafe Racer
    St. Petersburg, FL