Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Late 90's Scarab 29's... Impressions? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/179800-late-90s-scarab-29s-impressions.html)

ECeptor 02-14-2008 09:37 AM

Anyone ever heard of installing Blackhawks on the standard 29? If so, what was the speed increase? Also, anyone heard of installing shorter Bravo drives? If so, what was the result?

I've been keeping my eye on the Scarab 29 for a couple of years. If work goes well this year then next spring I'll take the plunge!

baddogz28 02-15-2008 11:22 AM

Thanks for all the info guys, I appreciate it.

hunster 02-15-2008 11:53 AM

Originally Posted by Run_em_hard (Post 2444737)
How does a 29' Scarab handle in the rough stuff? Say, three foot breakers? Or mabey 6 ft swells?

You're ducking waves over the bow:party-smiley-004:

satisfactionII 02-15-2008 12:19 PM

Originally Posted by Run_em_hard (Post 2444737)
How does a 29' Scarab handle in the rough stuff? Say, three foot breakers? Or mabey 6 ft swells?

I have a 26' ft Scarab and the chop is ok and a good ride after you have learned how to trim it, 6' swells..... these smaller boats launch like rockets and after the second swell you will STUFF-it. Stay at home in the 6' stuff.

pullmytrigger 02-16-2008 09:56 AM

ohhhhhhhhh the 29 Scarab with twin smallblocks.......my nemisis!
sharp looking boat

TexomaPowerboater 02-16-2008 10:52 AM

Originally Posted by ECeptor (Post 2444939)
Anyone ever heard of installing Blackhawks on the standard 29? If so, what was the speed increase? Also, anyone heard of installing shorter Bravo drives? If so, what was the result?

I've been keeping my eye on the Scarab 29 for a couple of years. If work goes well this year then next spring I'll take the plunge!