Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   owner finance (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/185259-owner-finance.html)

johnnyboatman 04-24-2008 09:48 PM

think i will just put it on the market if they want it then they will have to get a loan or a bigger down payment(ALOT BIGGER)

IDRPSTF 04-24-2008 10:19 PM

As a broker I have had many the phone calls from friends saying they sold the boat on there own and they didnt need me as a broker. Many end in the "I carried the note and the buyer isnt paying.. how do I get it back"? Next call... "Its ruined... Im gonna file against the guy"... Next call..."Can you help me find him"?
I have never recieved the "I carried the note for many years and everything went great... we are going for drinks tonight!"

bobkatz 04-25-2008 08:42 AM

You'll lose one of the two - The Cash or the Friend!

cigrocket 04-25-2008 08:48 AM

Bad Idea

lawdocx3 04-25-2008 08:55 AM

Originally Posted by Jupiter Sunsation (Post 2536838)
Tell them Chinese Financing Only: WON LUMP SUM!

Now thats funny :D

I sold a Baja to a friend a few years back. I financed it for him - to make a long story short, we are not friends anymore AND I got screwed out of about 20k. Don't walk RUN from that deal.

PowerstrokeNC 04-28-2008 07:27 AM

I wouldn't do it, i did this with my brother, it didn't end badly but there were times when it could have easily gone sideways, i would not do it again

X-Rated30 04-28-2008 11:44 AM

POLONIUS' ADVICE TO LAERTES IN "HAMLET":

...Neither a borrower, nor a lender be;
For loan oft loses both itself and friend,
And borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry.

--William Shakespeare