Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Carb and shift interupter issue. (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/186101-carb-shift-interupter-issue.html)

YOLO 05-06-2008 03:34 PM

Carb and shift interupter issue.

So.. I hope everyone is doing great..
Here is my question.. Upon luanch the boat seem to struggle with getting gas..when gas was dropped intot he carb from a bottle is ran great then eventually would starve it self or would stall..Nothing like a boat at the launch that would not start.. anyways.. I left the boat and came back to it a few hrs later and it started first try with me not having to put any gas into it.. then after 5 mins it stalled..

I looked around and found that there was a small pc of steel that i think it part of the shift interupter.. I studied it nad found that if it touched a certain contact point it would shut the engine down.

I flattened it out a bit and tighted up the screw.. the engine started right up..and ran for 20 minutes..I then put it into gear and took it out in the lake and drove around with no issues..

where my biggest issue lies is that I do not se a whole lot of fule dumping intot he carb fromt eh jets.. it is an Edlebrock carb.. I think around 750.

could the accelerator pump not be primed and or just dried out fromthe winter??? or do you guys think I have fixed the issue...

Griff 05-06-2008 05:52 PM

The fuel issue has nothing to do witht the shift interupt switch. Weber/edlebock carbs are notorious for leaking the fuel out of the bowls as they get older when not being used for while.

You shouldn't see any fuel going into the carb when at idle. its in the idle circuit.

pump the throttle and warm it up for 10 mins. If anything, you have a problem with the choke.

YOLO 05-06-2008 06:10 PM