Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Need grease? Need to move 4 tons (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/195210-need-grease-need-move-4-tons.html)

handfulz28 09-12-2008 10:58 AM

Need grease? Need to move 4 tons

Reaching out to the industrial folks here on the board. I'm no grease expert, but would appreciate if someone could confirm whether this is a decent and compatible "industrial" grease. It's in 55gal drums and 5gal buckets, so a little difficult to work into the boat and vehicle maintenance routine. :D

What do large users pay for this stuff?

From the MSDS:
2. COMPOSITION / INFORMATION ON INGREDIENTS

Description

Boric Oxide derivatives dispersed in Synthetic oils.

Ingredient CAS# Concentration in %
PAO 68037014 <50
FUMED SILICA 67762-90-7 <12
AZELIC ACID 123-99-9 <2
FATTY ACID ESTER NONE <6
SILICONE NONE <10
BORIC ACID 10043-35-3 <15
TACKIFIER MIXTURE <10
(SOLUTION OF
HYDROCARBON
POLYMER)

The color is light tan. Was supposed to be white translucent so the original buyer can't use it. My brother and I have started a junk removal service so we need to find a home for this before we commit to picking it up.

Chris Sunkin 09-12-2008 11:17 AM

You need to be very careful. If you place yourself in the chain of custody of this material, you can become liable for it- and all the damage that it does. While it may appear to be grease, it's also industrial waste and a pollutant. If you take it and transfer it to someone who them buries it in a field, you could be liable for large sums of $$ in removing it.

The first step is the capacity of which you're acting- If you buy it as a reseller, that's one thing. If you charge to remove it as excess material or waste, the situation changes dramatically.