Newbie here with newbie question

Notices

Newbie here with newbie question

Old 06-11-2009, 10:34 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here with newbie question

Hi all –

Newbie here with newbie questions. Well, not completely new. I registered on OSO at the end of last summer, but have not posted yet until now.
For a little background, I’ve been boating on and off for most of my life, but have never had a go-fast.

The wife and I do not have a go-fast / performance boat yet. We currently have a cuddy style cruiser type boat that cruises at about 32 mph and tops out at about 48 mph. So, compared to you guys, we are in the “slow lane”.

We’d both like more speed, and for a year or so, we have been toying with the idea of getting a go-fast. So, we were told that OSO is the place to be! Great site!

There is lots of great info here, but I have a few questions.
Where is a good place to look at lots of different types of go-fasts all in one area? You see very few (if any) at boat shows. We’d most likely buy used. Most marinas have only a few at most.
It seems that the most you see at one time are at poker runs.
Is it okay for non-participants to walk the docks and talk to poker run participants about their boats, or is the area generally closed off and reserved only for those with the wrist bands who are in the poker run? I figure it would be a great opportunity to talk with a few participants about what they like / don’t like about their boats, plus be able to actually see several go-fasts in one place. What do you think? A lot of participants seem to open their engine hatches, so it’s easy to see some of the hardware while standing on the dock. Talking to the owners, too, would be great.

There is the Thunder on the Bay poker run this Saturday, and all the boats will be at the Nauti Goose on late Saturday afternoon. It would be a great opportunity to talk to a few people and drool over boats.