Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   4 Winn Liberator 221 Performance & Other (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/217445-4-winn-liberator-221-performance-other.html)

arb 09-24-2009 12:55 PM

4 Winn Liberator 221 Performance & Other

I bought my 1990 Four Winns 221 in March and new to boating. I'm a retired Aviation Warrant Officer (Vietnam Vet) and needed to get my son (computer nerd) out of the house and buying the boat :boat: worked.

Ques. 1.

The boat has the 454, 370 HP (per book) engine with 228 hours since new. The speed-o- does not wotk. I read in the book that 55 MPH is about right and Lib. seems that fast. I took my car Tom-tom on board but the lighter plug-in was inop. for GPS speed.

Ques. 2.

Trim Indicator works (gauge off) and is operated off the throttle & drives up / dwn. to the King Cobra OMC.

211 Lib. does not have the add-ed on trim... just the drive unit. I am unsure .. if I am trimming the boat correctly. When I'm running at top speed, the drive setting seems best when it's ... all the way down. I think the trim indicator is slightly off .. gauge wise.. needle is too far down in gauge (not running full range, like gas gauge when it's off).

Without a speed-o.. how can one judge the correct trim setting ?

Do I look aft.. & judge by the rear of the boat and the wake from the prop. & boat trim (pitch forward & aft) ?

Also, would add on trim tabs be helpful on the corners of the boat for leveling out & added trim control ?

When I'm in a No wake zone (about 5 mph), boat is wandering back & forth and requires constant correction ... is this normal ?

Ques. 3

I read most of the info. regarding the King Cobra OMC drive problems.