Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   OT: Web Hosting (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/22109-ot-web-hosting.html)

jr 04-12-2002 09:18 AM

OT: Web Hosting

My wife and I are looking at moving our little business' to the web. There seems to be a ton of people out there that host web sites. And there seems to be pretty good prices as well. Start up fees seem to be 20 bucks, domain registration runs around the same per year.

What should I look out for. I know bandwidth needs to be as much as possible but how much bandwidth do you need. I figure a 1 meg site accessed 1000 times is a gig. Is that accrate? I'm a rookie at this but I want to do this my self. Partly do to start up costs, and partly to the "how hard can it be" factor. I haven't developed my site yet but I've been messing with it and I have some good ideas on what I want to do. I also have ideas on how to get it looked at. But with registering a domain, does that actually get it to Yahoo, Google and search engines like that or do I need to register it there. independantly.

Playn 04-12-2002 09:50 AM

PUDER, Sounds like this may be up your alley....

kcgbjc 04-12-2002 10:03 AM

I can host you!

Look for as much space and bandwidth as you can get for your money. Insure that there is 24 hour quick support. Many firms don't promise that or charge more for it. If you have any special programming needs, verify the host can handle the application you are using (ie Frontpage, ASP, mySQL database, e-commerce, etc.)

Use a host that someone you know has used and would refer you to.

Don't go for a host with the name Cheap in it.

I host many of the boat sites you may visit and do more each day. I have 24/7 support, great bandwidth and backup. I resell services and do everything in my power to get your site up.