Notices

Battery What To Do

Old 12-21-2009, 11:20 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Battery What To Do

Help what batteries should I go with I am restoring a 79 Martini group 27 or Optima's I am gonna buy billet boxes and I dont know what to go with gimme some intel
Old 12-21-2009, 11:28 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by 26MartiniMan
Help what batteries should I go with I am restoring a 79 Martini group 27 or Optima's I am gonna buy billet boxes and I dont know what to go with gimme some intel
The only battery in your size range that is still made in USA is East Penn (lead acid).

Interstate is made by Johnson Controls and shipped out of Mexico.

I favored Optima for a long time. Spent some money with them... My experience is that they never seem to "fully" come back after a deep discharge. In other words, it takes less time to kill one after it's been killed the first time.

I have no experience with Walmart Batteries and the Energizer type stuff.

Last edited by SDFever; 12-21-2009 at 11:31 PM.
Old 12-21-2009, 11:28 PM
Registered

Received 87 Likes on 49 Posts

optima,they take the beating and last the longest.
Old 12-21-2009, 11:32 PM
Registered

Received 40 Likes on 16 Posts

I personally can not stand Optima's and refuse to use them. I have yet to see one last more than a year.
I have been using Odyssey batteries for a few years now and have not had a problem. I absolutely love them. They are not cheap though. A group 27 Odyssey will run almost $300. However, you will not be dissappointed and will have it for a long time.
Eddie
Old 12-22-2009, 07:42 AM
Registered

I put Optima Batteries in my 32 Fountain. I sold the boat after 5 years and they never failed me. The boat was bought by a guy that had me do all the work to it for him and I did that for 3 more years and the optimas were still working fine. I put the larger optima batteries in my 38 Fountain and they have four years on them now and all is well. I like them!