Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
what kind of fire extinguisher should I get? >

what kind of fire extinguisher should I get?

Notices

what kind of fire extinguisher should I get?

Old 04-16-2002, 03:32 PM
KN
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question what kind of fire extinguisher should I get?

Hey guys looking to get a chrome 2.5lb extinguisher and a billet aluminum bracket. Should I get dry chemical or Halon (twice the cost, Rex marine has them available) is there any advantage of Halon over a dry chemical. I see Eddie, Rex, Teague and CP Performance marine all have brackets available, what do you guys have, they all seem to be a little different. Thanks

Kirk
Old 04-16-2002, 04:06 PM
Charter Member #9/ Moderator
Charter Member

I'm not a fire expert, but I would think if it's for the engine compartment you would want Halon to suffocate the fire. Dry chemical needs to be pointed at the base of the fire and should be used for cockpit and cabin. Any other suggestions?
Old 04-16-2002, 04:14 PM
Registered

5A10BC for hand held. I think Halon is illegal and unavailable now. They have some other stuff for the automatic engine compartment ones. I think jumping overboard and swimming like hell is the best solution. LOL. Or was it 1A10BC, something like that. Make sure its not just a BC type which wont put out wood or paper or anything like that.

Last edited by formula31; 04-16-2002 at 04:31 PM.
Old 04-16-2002, 04:23 PM
Registered

Powerboat reports investigated the subject a few months ago. They found that the foam extinguishers were very effective and easy to clean up. I think Kidde made it. It is slightly larger than the chemical extinguisher but more effective, longer lasting and easier to clean. I don't think they make an automatic version for the engine bay.
Old 04-16-2002, 04:48 PM
Charter Member #9/ Moderator
Charter Member

Originally posted by formula31