Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Boat ='s what percentage of annual income? >

Boat ='s what percentage of annual income?

Notices

Boat ='s what percentage of annual income?

Old 04-25-2010, 04:04 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Pete280
dude, that is not a sustainable financial plan, do you have a mortgage or rent to pay or do you live on the Sonic?
Short term sustainable not as much as long term. No I don;t live in the SOnic I live in a brand new 3 bedroom home with my girlfriend and one year old son. I also dump a couple hundred dollars into savings and 401k every month. Please remember that sustanability of the dollar is different in different areas. We both drive 05 vehicles that are about halfway paid for, go on trips when we wish, and eat out whenever we want and never ever use credit cards outside of emergencies. I am an accountant and financial planner so its all about budgeting. We live for 5 years "kinda tight" and then are cars and boats are paid for in cash. You have to look long term not short term. My goal was to pay off my toy while my son is younger. Also remember that those percentages only last about 6 months a year and I have a girlfriend who basically pays me like a rent every month which boost my income a few hundred bucks. Last few winters we have stuck back a couple hundred here and there into a savings account for boating. We then throw most of our taxes into that account also. Then around march we books hotel rooms for all the poker runs and budget out cash for gas for each one.
Old 04-25-2010, 04:25 PM
Registered

Received 734 Likes on 329 Posts

I'm into my second full year of not having to work anymore ( don't like saying retired ) and we're living off a 401 that's recovering very nicely and everyones contribution to social security. We sold two homes in a metropolitan area at huge losses and moved to a beautiful smaller area that's also a boating mecca.