Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Stryker speed boat? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/234963-stryker-speed-boat.html)

PaulS. 07-18-2010 04:22 PM

Stryker speed boat?

Okay I am very new to the boating world and have found a boat I cant stop thinking about I know nothing about it it is a stryker looks to be 21 ft or longer needs alot of work I dont even see the lower unit in it and the interior is completly shot I dont know if the engine was winterized I do know that it has been sitting well rotting for at least 7 years what would you guys estimate the boats value if the engine is shot and if the engine is good.

PaulS. 07-18-2010 04:35 PM

If this isnt a good boat to buy what other brands/models have a very similiar style

Too Stroked 07-18-2010 05:55 PM

Last time I checked, there was a boat called a Stryker that was actually the old Hammond Challenger. I believe they were built for a short time in the late 1980's or so. From what I remember, they were a nice riding fairly quick boat. I don't recall their construction being anything to write home about though.

If you're new to the boating world, stay away from "handman's specials." Generally speaking, they turn into a money pit in a real hurry.

Wobble 07-18-2010 09:36 PM

A 21 Stryker is a fast river boat and was available with a 502 mag/bravo 1 that produced speeds in the high seventies.

However, you will always get a better deal if you buy a boat with the work done. You never get your money back on "fixer ups" unless it's a house.

Search for Styker here and you will find a lot of info. I would avoid the boat you are describing unless you are able to do all the wood/glass work yourself.

PaulS. 07-18-2010 09:45 PM