Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
had a run in with Johnny Law today >

had a run in with Johnny Law today

Notices

had a run in with Johnny Law today

Old 10-01-2010, 12:08 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

This why I always hire a good attorney and somehow it goes away. I don't ask questions that, I really don't want the answers to.
Old 10-01-2010, 02:12 PM
Registered

Received 30 Likes on 18 Posts

Originally Posted by Westcoast
Neg.

Flares are ONLY required offshore. Not that its a bad idea to carry them on board reguardless.
Yup, correct USCG reg. Most states (including NY) have made it to say that you have to have them on any water if boating at night. and that if its day time, you have to have something like the orange distress flag if you don't have flares/orange smoke
Old 10-01-2010, 05:11 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

[QUOTE=sixmassive;3220565]
He asks my profession, i say "im a professional mariner"
"charter captain?" (he ASSumes because i am 25 years old)
"no i work in the oil feild, i have a master unlmited license"
"what size master? 50 ton?"
"i have an unlimited license."
i then hand him my USCG Masters any gross tons apon oceans, and tell him again i work in the oil feild and have an unlimited masters license. and say "as best as my knowledge serves me, within 3 miles or inland, a vessel my size is not required to have flares and that a coast guard approved cushion is adequate for throwable life saving device.
"I'll let you slide on that one this time because you seem responsible" he says

QUOTE]

I am not trying to be a dick, but at 25, how did you get a unlimited masters? I know that gulf days equall 1 and half days of sea time. That is just alot of sea time and sea school, or did you goto a maritime academy?
Old 10-01-2010, 07:10 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post