Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Deposit or not? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/241087-deposit-not.html)

berns29scarab 10-19-2010 07:01 PM

Originally Posted by Smarty (Post 3234111)
You can structure the deal any way you want, but there are ways to protect yourself. I like the idea of a deposit because it helps separate a bonafide purchaser from the tire kicker/prospects. You can have the deposit refundable or nonrefundable, it is up to the seller and buyer to have a meeting of the minds (agreement). I prefer signed documents, agreements, but I am a lawyer that explains my take on this matter.

ding ding ding...

Mastercraft240 10-19-2010 07:04 PM

Originally Posted by berns29scarab (Post 3234118)
ding ding ding...

ok berns, get a docment, lay down a deposit and come pick it up:evilb::lolhit:

berns29scarab 10-19-2010 07:05 PM

Originally Posted by CigRunner38 (Post 3234108)
What is the boat worth? If it's $50k take them for a free ride. A $50k boat is like a Hyundai.

If it is $500k you are in a different league. Then qualify them first.

dont really see the price being an issue. regardless of the price, the purchase has the same meaning to both buyers. $50k to a $50k range buyer has the same asthetic value as $500k to a $500k price range buyer. i've dealt with buyers of both types and more so then not, they buyer of the lower end product was much more pleasurable to deal with...and i've been in retail for 20 years

berns29scarab 10-19-2010 07:07 PM

Originally Posted by mastercraft240 (Post 3234121)
ok berns, get a docment, lay down a deposit and come pick it up:evilb::lolhit:

nice touch :party-smiley-004::party-smiley-004:

Jupiter Sunsation 10-19-2010 07:07 PM

Funny story on this subject....