Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Black Thunder - Just my opinion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/241437-black-thunder-just-my-opinion.html)

FuelinAround 10-28-2010 11:26 AM

Did they offer BT staggered? I am not sure what all the benefits of staggered motors is but the big one I see is they are easy to work on. You can get to the sides of the motors much easier in most I have seen. Are there performance reasons for staggered motors?

LAriverratt 10-28-2010 11:43 AM

Originally Posted by kyboy1020 (Post 3240895)
Did they offer BT staggered? I am not sure what all the benefits of staggered motors is but the big one I see is they are easy to work on. You can get to the sides of the motors much easier in most I have seen. Are there performance reasons for staggered motors?

I'm no expert by a long shot and someone else can give you way more info but I think it also affects the CG

SS930 10-28-2010 11:52 AM

The staggered configuration typically has a better CoG, handles better, and runs a hair faster... plus much easier to work on. The down side obviously is you loose cockpit space.

Coolerman 10-28-2010 11:55 AM

The 460 extended cockpit does not have room for staggered engines. Also, docking with staggered engines is a major pita on such a tall boat

FuelinAround 10-28-2010 04:27 PM

Originally Posted by saxman (Post 3240917)
The 460 extended cockpit does not have room for staggered engines. Also, docking with staggered engines is a major pita on such a tall boat

What the reason for this? One engine take longer to engage than the other or something?

rlj676 10-28-2010 04:51 PM

Originally Posted by kyboy1020 (Post 3241179)
What the reason for this? One engine take longer to engage than the other or something?