Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Intro and newbie (Fountain) question (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/244139-intro-newbie-fountain-question.html)

tda3 12-16-2010 12:45 PM

Intro and newbie (Fountain) question

Hello - my name is Tom, I'm a boataholic, and have abstained from boating for 5 years.

(the crowd says, "Hello Tom" and then boos him for his abstinence)

First I want to thank this website and the folks here for the info I've been mining for the last couple of years.

Me? I'm an engineer by trade and gearhead by choice. I love motorcycles, boats, airplanes, and racing. I personally think the greatest gift that God ever gave to Man was the internal combustion engine. And one day I'm going to create a line of women's fragrances that will have the aroma of such things as the exhaust smell of a 2-stroke burning Blenzall or a V-8 burning VP or Turbo Blue race fuel. Yes....my wife thinks I'm crazy. Anyhow........

I've pretty much grown up around boating and the water. My Dad took me to boat races as early as 4 years old. As for boating experience, it ranges from helping my Dad build a 15' outboard runabout (Glen L Marine Designs) at the age of 6 to a 35' inboard cabin cruiser to a 19' outboard to a 52' sailboat, to.....well, you get the picture. The only boat I've not had the pleasure of piloting is the one boat that I have promised myself I would purchase for my 55th birthday and that is an offshore style performance boat. And I'm right on track to make that happen next year. YEA ME!!!!!

As I continue to narrow down my choices there's an odd question I have that I hope you guys could answer for me. Actually, I think I need your opinion(s) more than an answer.