I think I might be a dumbass!!! >

I think I might be a dumbass!!!

Notices

I think I might be a dumbass!!!

Old 05-04-2011, 04:17 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I think I might be a dumbass!!!

You may know that your a dumbass when you go against the advice of your buddy and the members here who replied on your thread about baby blisters on the hull of your potential boat purchase, but moved forward anyway.

My boat passed every aspect of the powertrain/vessel surveys and the seatrial except for the little blisters in the gelcoat.
The supercharged engines aced the motor tests and drove her to 73gps on the seatrial.
Here's the link again to my thread in the beginning
http://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/b...know-boat.html

Trust me on this people, for being a newbie I think I did almost as well as a seasoned veteran on the negotiations.
Here's the lowdown on my purchase;
2008 McClain aluminum 18000 lb triple axle trialer with electric over hydraulic disc brakes on 2 axles 5k, 1996 Baja 38 special 24k, 2000 mile delivery from NH to TX 4k, and 1700 in service fees for the powertrain engine tests, survey, and seatrial.
34700 total on a 40k cash budget leaves a bit to spare for the fiberglass work which I'll probably sand down myself to save on labor costs and then have a pro spray the new gelcoat.

Although I posted that I wasn't emotionally attached to the boat I actually think I was fooling myself. I believe what carried me over to the dark side was the history of the boat being the flagship unit of the Mfg's fleet and her being the official 1996 poker run boat of that year for Baja, the powertrain, and the long term ownership of the seller.
I always wanted a semi fast boat that can weekend comfortably. I feel pretty good that it can handle these chores. Low 70's in a big heavy boat like this can't be to terribly bad.

I'd really like y'alls insight, both good and bad.