Notices

Hurricane prep.

Old 08-26-2011, 03:29 PM
Registered

Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts

Just a few word. Best of luck and be safe "up there".
Don't take my comments as "expert" advise. I'm no expert but I been through a bunch of hurricanes in Fl. I have a bit of experience, + as a licenced CGC, we had to have some training. SO just take my notes with a grain of salt sort of speak.
Looking at Irene, not a strong hurricane but very big. Effect will be wide spread. I seen trees with bark pretty much gone like it was sand blasted, so fying junk will be in issue. For boats, try to cover them with a tarp or get them out of open areas, inside. At 100 MPH all the chit fying around will F' up the finish. Just think how much rain hurts at 70. Many trees/branches will fall = power loss, demage to what ever is under them. Protect your windows from flying glass if they brake. Plywood, shuters or even duct tape them all over. It's a cat2. may be cat 1 by the time it gets to the NY area. I don't see major structural or building problems. I'm sure a few weak roofs might need some refurbishing next week.
I think the storm surge will be an issue. If you need to get out of town GET.. Many will have flood issues and roof issues. Protect your critical docs. Garbage bags or get some plastic containers. Be prepaired that tap water may not be good, due to flooding and sewer water mixing into the system. Buy food that you may not need to cook. Power loss will be extensive. Anything you can pick up around your house or neighbors house, get rid of it. IF you can pick it up,? the wind will surely make it a flying object. Just trying to help a bit, but most importantly be safe and be calm. Lets hope this thing goes further East.

Last edited by PARADOX; 08-26-2011 at 03:39 PM.
Old 08-27-2011, 07:58 AM
Registered

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts