Notices

Commentary: The Price of What

Old 11-14-2011, 08:29 AM
GLH
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Received 19 Likes on 13 Posts

Originally Posted by T2x
Thanks for your comments. The only point on which we differ (and the reason I'm "obsolete") is that I have been saying this for the last 20-25 years.

T2x
You are the best proponent for this objective Rich.

However this sport here in the US is just not organized.

Grant it there are small entities organizing races here and there as well as some series but if the organizers make the requirements for racing more and more expensive they will see the numbers of racers dwindle down to nothing. I don't know exactly the age of the boats racing last weekend but my guess is only the 3-5 boats has anything onboard remotely resembling what your preaching. And the show would be a lot different with only 3-5 boats.

Unless you get an entity with financial horsepower making a descent show and requiring stringent safety equipment, whatever it is your suggestions are although very accurate will just not happen, your aware of that look at the last 25 years as you said.

Racing in Europe and the Middle East seems organized a little more like what we aim for but still heavily politicized and dependent on the entity pumping the organizing cash.

Maybe it can happen, Steve David explains a system that worked in Unlimited Hydro although the series is relatively small but at least there is not twenty competing sanctioning bodies setting up races, I think.

Unless someone with major money starts organizing the sport and taking a hard stance on safety it is simply going to continue as it as been for a very long time without any concise direction or safety plan, unfortunately.

This is not a criticism it is the reality of the sport we are passionate about unfortunately. Talking here accomplishes nothing, this sport is marginal at best currently and nothing on the horizon will change this unfortunately.