Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
First engine run (vid) - exhaust reversion help needed! >

First engine run (vid) - exhaust reversion help needed!

Notices

First engine run (vid) - exhaust reversion help needed!

Old 04-08-2012, 09:11 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First engine run (vid) - exhaust reversion help needed!

So I'm fairly new to all of this, and got a project Donzi 24 Black Widow with dead engine.

I bought a built engine from a friend, which had already been run-in on the dyno (flat-tappet cam) so don't worry about the revs.

It sat for a long time and we just finished the accessory stuff and finally got it started.

In any event, some guys over on the Donzi forums all noticed that exhaust reversion will be a problem based on the video and that it might have been what killed the previous motor (which had water in the oil when I got it, but the main problem seemed to be a stuck exhaust valve with everything else relating to that).

I didn't take measurements yesterday but I'm worried about my options at this point. It might be possible to extend the risers - does anyone know if SM makes taller risers at a different angle? I've also seen other solutions while searching such as x-pipes, introducing water at a different location, or running thru-hull water dumps.

Some info on the build: assembled by Gardener Performance @ .060 over to 468. .510 lift and 226 deg. intake and 236 deg. exh. @.050 on 112 centerline, roller rockers, all forged internals, dimple rods, SRP 10:1 pistons, heads are GM Perf w/ inconel valves, Sea Demon 830 carb, stainless marine exhaust.

[YOUTUBE]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WXJyYFpTplg[/YOUTUBE]
Old 04-08-2012, 09:34 AM
Registered

Received 97 Likes on 46 Posts

If reversion is an issue, Stainless Marine can lengthen your risers. I have a set on a SBC that have been lengthened by 11 inches.
Old 04-08-2012, 09:42 AM
Registered

Originally Posted by Sutphil