Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Registered

May possibly live on a boat for a few years...

I am a physical therapist and am getting divorced. I have no kids and can take a job and travel which will result in a 50% pay raise, signing bonus, room and board stipend, etc.

I'm in my early 30s and my dream has always been to travel, live on a boat, and travel along the coast. I'd buy a motorcycle as I have ridden most of my life, carry it in the back of my truck to my next assignment, drop off the truck and ride the bike back to the boat, load the bike onto the boat, and then run the boat to the next marina. The boat would take the place of the mortgage and the marina fees would be more than covered by the living expenses stipend.

My first thought for a boat I could live on for a few years and hav fun entertaining is the Formula 40SS. Can you all relay any personal experiences of living on a boat and tell me what other boats I should be looking at?

Thanks a lot. I'm looking to start traveling in about 4 months once I have 2 years experience and will patiently look for the right boat around that time.
    Last edited by chris@uga; 05-12-2012 at 06:28 PM.

VIP Member VIP Member akaboatman's Avatar
    I  Voted
    Good luck. Sounds like fun. I would do it. Artie

Platinum Member Platinum Member mike tkach's Avatar
    My Boats:
    31 american offshore,38 fountain fever
    chris,it sounds like you have a plan,you are young,i say go for it.i hope the new job is in a place with a warm climate all year long,good luck and have fun.
    MIKE TKACH

Banned
    What a dream, not really feasible

My Boats:
    Quote Originally Posted by Sbarberdds View Post
    What a dream, not really feasible