Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Correspondent Correspondent

Fiore Interview on Outerlimits SV29: 'The hull is fine'

Registered
    My Boats:
    22 Donzi Classic 525 EFI
    Wow. I thought we were finally going to get the whole story. Instead we got "the hull is fine" and "I'm not willing to discuss that". Not really the way to stop the rumor mill.....

Gold Member Gold Member Too Stroked's Avatar
    My Boats:
    Progression 22 w/ Diamond Marine Mercury 2.5 / 200
    A "mechanical failure" caused the boat to go over. Mike refuses to disclose what failed other than to say "it will never happen again."

I've been a Mechanical Engineer for over 30 years. It's very difficult to make sure anything will never happen again. Personally, I'd feel much better if I knew what failed and what was done to correct it. But that's just the engineer in me.

Registered
    My Boats:
    2000 Cigarette Mystique
    looked like a pretty good answer to me. I would venture to say that he doesnt want to point fingers at a distributor or anyone else he buys parts from. It was an accident, caused by mechanical failure, it happens.. My 30' twin engine very heavy Cig had a the button on one of the tabs stick once and i swear my hair got wet we rolled starboard so hard. I caught it in time, but it could have been a different story at higher speeds or in a turn.

if you dont like, or trust the hull, dont buy it, but dont ruin a reputation or mans way to make a living on your opinion.

Registered
    My Boats:
    an old black boat
    Quote Originally Posted by Too Stroked View Post
    A "mechanical failure" caused the boat to go over. Mike refuses to disclose what failed other than to say "it will never happen again."