Notices

fuel pressure Question???

Old 07-17-2012, 06:08 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fuel pressure Question???

I have a 97 Baja 272 With a 502Mag MPI Cool fuel SN# starts with OK17......dont know the rest sry.

Anyways i have been having some issues with it not running right latly. For the first 5 minutes or so it runs great. Then it loses all mid to high RPM Power and takes forever to get on plane from a standstill. Seems to idle fine and rev fine in neutral.

I have checked all the plugs they look good to me but I am no expert. The distributor cap had some corrosion on the inside of it so I replaced it and the rotor. I put new wires on because a few looked cracked and like they have never been changed before...the boat is 15yrs old.

i just checked my fuel pressure here is what i saw.

Just turning the key on, not starting= 28psi which drop'd with in a second to 20psi. It held @ 20psi for a few minutes then slowly droped to 15psi where it held.
Running at idel= 25-27psi
Running at idel with vaccume hose off of the pressure reg 30-32psi.......note: I am assuming that the circle thing on the front of the fuel rail right by the shrader valve is the fuel reg.
Running at 3k RPM= 20-22psi

My question is this. Is the Fuel Pump bad or the pressure regulator or both. Anyone know for sure?
Edit: or could i have a restriction somewhere in the fuel line?

Any help you guys can offer would be most appreciated.

Last edited by tlracer1; 07-17-2012 at 06:14 PM.
Old 07-17-2012, 06:16 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fixx

Originally Posted by tlracer1
I have a 97 Baja 272 With a 502Mag MPI Cool fuel SN# starts with OK17......dont know the rest sry.

Anyways i have been having some issues with it not running right latly. For the first 5 minutes or so it runs great. Then it loses all mid to high RPM Power and takes forever to get on plane from a standstill. Seems to idle fine and rev fine in neutral.