Notices

Hull design questions

Old 09-05-2012, 01:13 PM
Registered

Received 42 Likes on 23 Posts
Default Hull design questions

I have been boating for 20 years but I have owned only runabouts (young kids & watersports). My questions are regarding step hulls vs. traditional non-step V. With all of the spin outs and rollovers recently, is this a phenomenon mainly associated to the step hulls? Do non-step hulls spin out? My boat has 22.5 degree deadrise and runs just south of 60. Is it possible for a runabout to spin? I have a 496 BIII and trim tabs. Forgive my ignorance on the subject. I've had a passion for performance boats for 20 yrs. but one isn't practical for me right now. Thanks for any insight as I'm always looking to learn.
Old 09-05-2012, 01:27 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 179 Likes on 66 Posts

Originally Posted by MonkeySea2
I have been boating for 20 years but I have owned only runabouts (young kids & watersports). My questions are regarding step hulls vs. traditional non-step V. With all of the spin outs and rollovers recently, is this a phenomenon mainly associated to the step hulls? Do non-step hulls spin out? My boat has 22.5 degree deadrise and runs just south of 60. Is it possible for a runabout to spin? I have a 496 BIII and trim tabs. Forgive my ignorance on the subject. I've had a passion for performance boats for 20 yrs. but one isn't practical for me right now. Thanks for any insight as I'm always looking to learn.
Yes, you can spin out a non-stepped hull. (Ask me how I know that.) I spun my 20' Checkmate out with only a moderately tight turn, but I ran the outboard motor way up on a jack plate, so that didn't help. However, my current 22' Progression would appear to take a miracle to spin out and the motor is mounted even higher up. The big difference? Twenty vs. Twenty four degress of deadrise and very sharp lifting strakes on the Progression.