Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
advice on boat 35-45 boat purchase ? >

advice on boat 35-45 boat purchase ?

Notices

advice on boat 35-45 boat purchase ?

Old 12-07-2012, 12:20 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default advice on boat 35-45 boat purchase ?

I am looking for some sound advice on purchasing a boat.
I have been researching for a couple years, watching the market and trying to get ride time in also. I have researched the history and tried to absorb as much as possible to narrow my search.
I have narrowed down to Active Thunder, Sonic, Black Thunder, Fountain, Scarab, and Cigarette. I would like to try to stay in the 38-45 foot range. This seems to fill the bill for me. But some of the Sonics have impressed me.
What I have found is the Cigarette being old models from 86-93. The Fountains and Scarabs from 87-98. Sonic, Active Thunder and Black Thunder 93-98. I did find a 38 hustler slingshot but it is going to be a stretch to buy. Most are around 38-40 foot. A couple in the 42-45, mostly Scarab and Fountain.
What I have found is; Active Thunder, Black Thunder, and Sonic seems to be the better buy. I could be wrong, but this why I am here. I will be cruising mostly, a couple pokers runs, and nothing too crazy. I live in Kentucky, but might head to Florida for pokers runs. Maybe to relocate also.
I do apologize for being long winded, I am just trying to be thorough. Any help would be much appreciated.

Last edited by rtc74; 12-07-2012 at 03:56 AM. Reason: grammar
Old 12-07-2012, 12:24 AM
Registered

Received 55 Likes on 34 Posts

Fountain or formula would be my call. Formula more creature comforts. Fountain more speed. Both great boats. I know you didn't list formula was just throwing it out there. I would also add cig even though they are generally pricy in comparison but nice boats.
Old 12-07-2012, 01:32 AM
Registered