Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   OT: Who has a MBA? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/30393-ot-who-has-mba.html)

mpally 08-06-2002 11:35 PM

OT: Who has a MBA?

I am currently studying for the GMAT in order to go to graduate school. Who has a MBA? What are your thoughts on getting a MBA? Was it worth it?

Just Browsing 08-06-2002 11:47 PM

In a word. . . YES

I went straight through from undergrad at KU (Univeristiy of Kansas, Class of 89), and got an MBA in Finance from the UT (University of Texas) in 1991. It was difficult at the time to stay in school while my friends were out making decent money, but now I'm glad I stuck with it. Take the time and get the advanced degree. You will derive satisfaction from going the "extra mile". An MBA today is the equivalent of a BS or BA from a couple of decades ago.

Hope this helps.

32fever 08-06-2002 11:58 PM

I have one. How much would ya give me for it? :)

It depends on what you want it for, and what you want to do. I earned one to follow a finance career and maybe pursue investment banking, but later decided I didn't want to deal with the big city life style. I'm too impatient to spend a couple hours traveling 10 miles a day;)

I'm self employed now, so whether I have a PHD or dropped out of high school doesn't really matter at all. However, I'm thinking of someday going back to teach college (SUMMERS OFF!!!!!!!! BOATINGS BEST CAREER) and it will come in handy then.

I'd spend some time and analyze how or what you'll do with it and then decide if you want to spend the money. If an employer is paying 100%, I'd do it just for that, as long as it was in the nasty months and didn't take away throttle jockey time.