Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Power Stroke or Duramax (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/31640-power-stroke-duramax.html)

Rickoffshore 08-27-2002 10:24 AM

1 Attachment(s)
I have been hauling race boats around for 20 yrs., and I have driven them all from Ford F-350's to Top Kicks w/ cats, and none can tow around my 15,000 lb. race rig as effortless as my Duramax Dually w/Allison. I can tow @ 90mph with ease. I went to Lake-X with a 37 Active Thunder with my truck and it was like it wasn't there,(ask Tim from Thunder). The next week I returned to the lake with another 37 Active Thunder which was a lighter boat(race boat with no a/c, cabin, or genny) and it was with a 2002 F-350 with modifications(60hp box), and it was like day and night, power, ride, fuel economy, quietness, etc. cannot compare. It doesn't take much to see the difference, especially if your on the road as much as me. Ford guys will be Ford guys etc., and the only thing I can tell you is Ford is coming out with a new deal to try to get back on the same page for a reason. Plus if your a speed junkie like myself, you can take your duramax and with a 90 hp box w/250 ft. lbs., K+N air filter, and in 4 wheel drive (can't come out in 2 wheel, just lights them up) ran a 60ft. time of 2.0 sec. and turned a 14.9 @ 91mph, and thats with 6 wheels, imagine with 4! P.S.- I sell the boxes for Fords, GM's, and Dodge diesels.

SeaDated 08-27-2002 10:43 AM

Rickoffshore

It's like I said, everyone has a story. The point is, if you are having trouble towing with this set up, you're towing something you shouldn't be towing with a pickup truck. Somewhere safety for those around us needs to come into play. ( there's more than pulling. Things like stopping, turning-possibly at speed, and hitches/balls etc)

Gig

Playn 08-27-2002 11:05 AM