Go Back  Offshoreonly.com > General Discussion > General Boating Discussion
Should I Get In The Boat Building Business? >

Should I Get In The Boat Building Business?

Notices

Should I Get In The Boat Building Business?

Old 08-30-2014, 12:43 PM
Registered

Received 63 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Should I Get In The Boat Building Business?

This ad has been running for quite some time:

http://inlandempire.craigslist.org/bod/4625052763.html

Says he has the 28 Cigarette mold and others. He is on Corona, CA just up the freeway from me.

Could he really have the original Cigarette mold?

It would be cool to pop out some 28 Cig's but truth be told, I have zero experience or knowledge about layup hulls.
Old 08-30-2014, 01:29 PM
BUP
Banned

Received 41 Likes on 35 Posts

Sy (spelling) the owner of Commander Boats called me thru the grapevine about 4 months ago wanting to know if I knew anyone looking to by some boat molds. He wanted to see if I wanted the 28 Cig mold or anyone that would. IMO building new boats in todays market is a losing investment to produce for the average to above average boat buying person(s). It seems just the high end new stuff sells and some new models of CC boats plus a ton of Pontoon boats and about 2 or 3 wakeboard boat brands, (Malibu, Mastercraft).

Thinking who really is kickin in the V hull glass market would be Yamaha jet drive boats and for the sportboat V hull I/O side maybe Sunsation and Shockwave who has build the most lately but not setting sales records for the not extreme rich boat buyer. I really can not think of any v- hull Rec / family or sportboat manufacturer who is knocking them dead with boat sales. Just my 2c

Last edited by BUP; 08-30-2014 at 01:43 PM.
Old 08-30-2014, 02:20 PM
Registered

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

people who have years of experience and already own the molds and already have the workforce set up and running can't stay in business building and selling boats...
Old 08-30-2014, 04:42 PM
Registered