New, first post, looking for a direction >

New, first post, looking for a direction

Notices

New, first post, looking for a direction

Old 06-15-2015, 08:05 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New, first post, looking for a direction

Hello everyone, this is my first post on here, I look forward to getting to know some of you better and hopefully contributing one day to the forum. A bit of background leading up to my question(s): I have a lot of experience restoring muscle and classic cars with my dad, and grew up on the water in FL. Our private shop where we work on our cars is down the road from Nor-techs catamaran outfitting and dyno cell and I've seen them on the river since before I can remember. I absolutely can't afford a Nortech, but I have some time and money to spend now and have started looking into my options.

I'm trying to get a feel for how feasible it is to buy an 'attractively' shaped hull, rebuild it (anywhere from paint, interior, all new mechanical, etc), and eventually sell it for a small profit. Everyone I've talked to says boats are money pits, and we've had several while I was growing up. I just can't get it out of my head that there are opportunities to have some fun rebuilding a hull and in the end giving someone a nice boat who may not have the expertise or time to put the work into building it.

If your still with me, am I crazy? Where do I go from here- I don't see how some baja and scarabs can go for $30k while others that seem comparable go for barely 1/2 that. what do I look out for when looking at a hull as far as desirability, features (I know the typical structural stuff)?

Mechanically: I've read bravo 1 drives can handle decent power if not abused, could I 'roll into' 600+hp and be ok, if not what affordable mods or drive do I look to? I see a lot of roots style blowers on these engines, why havnt I seen any turbos?

Thanks guys for reading these questions!
Old 06-15-2015, 08:15 PM
Registered