Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   O/T Land Dispute???? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/33252-o-t-land-dispute.html)

BadDog 09-18-2002 03:59 PM

I am not a lawyer but drank a lot of beer with some. I think that the clock for eminent domain can be nullified if you send notice that you are aware of the encroachment upon your land. In other words if you do nothing at some point they can claim eminent domain. If you give notice that you are aware then the land is not being notoriously used.

Best to make good neighbors. Offer to give them a hand moving the shed. Is it really where it bothers you and can they just as easily put it somewhere else?

TimT.

hp500efi 09-18-2002 03:59 PM

A few words of advice:

I would tread lightly only because she is your neighbor. Maybe stop over and just explain to her that it concerns you in the event something happened to her shed on your property or if someone got hurt while attending her shed on your property. I agree that it should be off your property however if things get ugly, it will only get worse in the future.

mopower 09-18-2002 04:05 PM

If it entirely on your land ...put up a fence. Or like Risk Taker suggested.;)

pb 09-18-2002 04:07 PM

Lets look at it another way as opposed to letters, lawyers, and building inspectors(which is my profession):rolleyes:. How big is the shed and is it located in an area that you plan on developing at anytime? Or is it in the back 40 acres of your land? Is the shed really causing hardship to you? Was there some type of verbal agreement or discussion with that person and your Grandpa about its location when constructed? Although that person decided to take the low road and verbally bash you, try taking the high road and stop by to introduce yourself and come to a resolution face to face.