Outlaw 25 is it (I think), but gotta make the wife happy >

Outlaw 25 is it (I think), but gotta make the wife happy

Notices

Outlaw 25 is it (I think), but gotta make the wife happy

Old 11-30-2005, 02:41 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Outlaw 25 is it (I think), but gotta make the wife happy

I am a newbie with boating experience looking to upgrade from my Bayliner 20' to an offshore for SoCal. Everyone on this forum gave me a great head start about a month ago to do research on an upgrade. After a lot of research, analysis, I am not limiting to, but am looking at the Baja 232 perf, 245 perf, 242 Islander, and Outlaw 25. Per all of your suggestions, I am test driving the 232 tomorrow, the outlaw 25 next week, and have to get to the dealer to try the 245. By the looks, deadrise (quality of ride), and size, I would prefer the Outlaw 25. Just one problem, gotta make the wife happy to seal the deal.

A couple of questions:

Windshield:
She requires this, no discussion. I talked to Wayne Earl in Placentia, CA who specialize in fairing installation, and was told I basically could do whatever I want with plexiglass (marine grade, 1/2 inch thick) on the Outlaw, but no true aluminum framed windshield. Is this definitive or does anyone know if it is possible. How high should I go with the new fairing to make wife happy, but not slow the boat down too much.

Engines:
Looking at year 2000 and above, I am limiting my choices to the 454 Mag (385), 502 Mag (415), 496, and 496 HO no matter which boat I choose. Just want your opinions on which are good/bad/cheap to maintain/problem engines, ect.

Fiberglass:
I would prefer fiberglass stringers (no wood). What year did the Outlaw 25 start with no wood and should I care about this issue?

Models:
I have chosen these models for all different reasons. Family happiness, towing, storage, ect. I know the outlaw 25 is the best rough water boat, but any other opinions aside from ride on the boats mentioned above?