If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Who is a boat salesman???

I am looking into a career change. I want to do something that I love. I love boats and enjoy meeting new people. I have been in sales before and enjoyed it. I would like to begin a career in boat sales. I am looking for some honest comments from people who are in boat sales.
    I am curious about:
    Your location
    Any perks?

All comments, both good and bad are appreciated!
    You can PM or email if you`d rather not post here.

Cool Boat Sales...LONG

I have been in sales/brokerage in the marine industry for about 4 years now...I actually got into it during the summers between college and now I am full time since I graduated college in May. Growing up on the water and now working around it is great. You meet people from all different backgrounds and help them with their investment.

The dealership that I work sells mostly large SeaRay Crusiers in the 28-45ft. range. Were are paid a modest base salary and then we earn 2% on what we sell. For easy math...If I sell a $100,000 SeaRay my commission is $2,000 plus my base salary. Other dealerships may pay on gross profit but I like being paid a percentage of the selling price. Here's one reason...we recently sold a boat that was a 2000 Model. It was on the showroom floor for almost 3 years...unpopular model. We ended up selling it for dealer cost. If I was paid on gross profit I would have ended up with nothing. I will average about 50k a year. I am happy with that since I haven't been out of school for a full year yet...I have the usual benefits and retirment plans as well. A drawback is that there is no dental.