Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Why are dealers dropping Donzi??? (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/41253-why-dealers-dropping-donzi.html)

26ZX Donzi 01-18-2003 07:58 AM

Sorry Guys. The Margaritas were doing some of the talking and I (as proven) am not very good at sarcasm.

I apologize to surface tension and any others that were confused or offended.

Donzi's are priced awfully high compared to Baja and some others. If you do some shopping around, which is half the fun, you can get a quality Donzi product for a decent price.

riskybusiness 01-18-2003 08:01 AM

Tension:

I was a tech at the Donzi dealer on Lake Winnipesaukee several years ago (probably the same dealer referred to earlier).

I could not believe I was actually getting paid to set up and test drive every new Donzi in our lineup!:D 'Not a bad job.

Anyway, I have been out of touch with the dealer for a while now, so I don't even know if they still carry them (last I knew they did, as well as Pro-Line--owned by the same parent compnay, etc.). THe Pro-Lines sold a bit more volume, because of their fishing nature (bigger market almost anywhere you go).

As far as the new Donzi's go, I did notice some minor attention to detail lacking here and there (aesthetic trim pieces needing to be refastened, and so on), but was ALWAYS very impressed with the design and performance of the boats, at least their smaller, classic models.

The 16, 18, and 22 classics were, and are some of the best handling, fastest, and most predictable boats in their class.:)

A 22' classic, with stock power, would run just under 75 MPH all day long, not even feeling a 2' chop.

THe BLACKHAWK 22' cracked into the low 80's, with the same rough-water and handling characteristics. 'Turned on a dime, knifed though chop, awesome boats.