OT: Refinancing over the Internet.. >

OT: Refinancing over the Internet..

Notices

OT: Refinancing over the Internet..

Old 01-21-2003, 11:45 AM
Charter Member
Charter Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default OT: Refinancing over the Internet..

Has anyone refinanced their mortgage over the Internet? I filled out the forms at Lendingtree.com and got four very tempting responses. But it seems too easy. Does anyone know of anything I need to watch out for?
Old 01-21-2003, 11:47 AM
Registered

I did a couple with Ditech (GMAC) with no problems. They even sent someone out to do the closings.
Old 01-21-2003, 12:14 PM
Registered

I am a Mortgage Loan Officer with Wells Fargo and I have very little faith in the Internet companies. I have heard many horror stories of fees and rates changing at the closing table. You don't have to close and if you Resind the transaction you get your Application Fee back but that does little if rates went up and you are left looking for a new lender. They have "Bank Fees" that will look very low but later you find out about the "other fees" from outside the Bank that can add another $1000.00. Like you said it is too easy and if it is there is a problem. You need someone who can be held accountable for there actions. Someone you can bash on a forum board that is seen by thousands. Someone who will not hide behind a screen name so you can look them up in the phone book and harass the hell out of. Get the hint?
Old 01-21-2003, 12:20 PM
Registered

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I used some guy on a boat forum I recall. The process was quick, easy, and uneventful. I think his avatar had something stupid like a snowmobile on it

Cignificant, Give Mitch a call.
Old 01-21-2003, 01:00 PM
Registered

Received 43 Likes on 24 Posts

I just used priceline.com it was a nightmare but its over with and I got a good rate at very low closing costs. I have since been told that Eloan is better at this.