Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   OT-Question for GM techs (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/44048-ot-question-gm-techs.html)

Cord 02-24-2003 12:16 PM

OT-Question for GM techs

We've been having a reoccuring problem with our S-10 Blazer. The fuel pumps keep on burning out. The problem usually shows up as a no start situation. The truck may also die when at a stop, and has cut out (but not died) when being driven. Sometimes, the truck will restart if you wait several hours. The dealer has replaced the pump 3 times now, and the problem is still occuring. My question is; what is causing the pump to fail? This last one had less than a weeks worth of use on it.

OG Outlaw 24 02-24-2003 01:47 PM

Drugs in the Gas Tank:D

OG:cool:

Wally 02-24-2003 01:47 PM

Hey Cord....when i had an s-10 while i was an installer doing alarms and stuff for dealers...one of the head service guys told me to change the fule filters on those trucks like every other oil change.....said they are crap and go out fast! Also told me to keep an eye out on the whole "spider"assembly fuel injection setup under the manifold. told me that those are prone to go out as well....just passing some info along... :)

Cord 02-24-2003 02:03 PM

Yep, the dealer is shot gunning the truck. We just replaced the spider assembly and fuel regulator as it was leaking. They just called me to say that the truck starts just fine, so they can't diagnose the no start condition. They also say that my cap and rotor are bad, which will cost $300 to replace. I asked him if the bad cap & rotor were the cause of the no-start and he wouldn't answer the question. So I answered it for him. Morons.

vtec 02-24-2003 02:04 PM

Cord:

I'm assuming this is an electric pump.