Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   Broke a lifter in a hp500efi. (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/47330-broke-lifter-hp500efi.html)

ChrisK 07-09-2003 08:51 PM

I am not sure if this is the same or not but here is what happened to me. I have a 98 Mastercraft prostar 190 with a 350hp 350 CI chevy LT1 in it. Came with mobile 1 from the factory and we kept that in it. At about 150-170 hours (cant recall exactly) I had a lifter(Roller lifters) go bad and bend the pushrod, sending it through the valve cover. The boat was still under warranty at the time so we took it to the local dealer. After teardown and inspection we found that the lifter had frozen up and wore a flat spot into the top of the pushrod as well as the roller. The force ended up bending the rod. The dealer atributed it to what is being said here, that the oil was the root cause making the lifter "glide" over the pushrod instead of rolling on the top.

The end result. 1 new head fully loaded with new lifters, valves , etc. Has run great ever since... no more synthetic in it.

bobby daniels 07-09-2003 08:54 PM

Originally posted by Sydwayz
Cars don't spend time on the rev limiters like boats do, creating the high heat, high friction wear associated with rollers in boats.
The load on the lifter is different in a car than a boat ,not !
I don't know to many vettes or other street cars or boats that stay on the limiters :eek: most boat owners are smarter than that --,also the syn protects much better so its what you need in a high heat (which bty is lower than a car ) high friction which in the lifter bores would be the same ,, so syn is still best ,but use what you like thats why there so many types !!