Notices

Paging Riskybusiness

Old 05-23-2003, 03:22 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Paging Riskybusiness

RB,

Did you buy your boat from a guy in upstate NY by the name of Darrol Hudson?
Old 05-23-2003, 04:14 PM
riskybusiness

Shane: I can only assume the boat to which you are referring is the one pictured in my avatar......

I sincerely wish I could claim ownership of it (24' Banana). Actually, it's not mine , nor am I (yet) in the financial league of any boat worthy enough to justify my presence on this board.

The boat pictured in my avatar was Mike Snow's first Team Banana race boat, B73, vintage 1987 or so. He sold it, and had us build a "dedicated" race boat from the same molds (his first was little more than a stock pleasure boat). I don't know who bought it from him, or where it ended up. 'Could been with Darrel Hudson.

I was a boatbuilder/rigger/certified Merc tech some years ago at Banana Boat Ltd. in Providence, RI. 'Built the 24' Bananas there for about 4 years, 8 or 10 per year (hence the avatar--I consider myself the unnoficial proud spokesman of the no-longer-existent, purely fictitious Banana Race Team, based on little more than my pride in having built the race boats) I went on to tech at a Donzi dealer on Lake Winnipesaukee in Wolfeboro, NH (Goodhue Hawkins Navy Yard) .

So, while I've got some great experience behind the sticks, and my heart is and has always been in go-fasts of any and all configurations, my budget still has some catching up to do, and the 18' Boston Whaler will have to do for now....(still paying for 'Grad school, the M.B.A. has not yet led to the "mega-bank-account", and have since acquired a beautiful wife, and two beautiful (read: expensive) daughters).

The fastest boat I own at the moment is a class "b" outboard 3-point hydro, good for about 60 MPH. Lotsa fun for a piece of plywood!

Old 05-27-2003, 06:44 PM
Registered

Question

Hey Risky Biz ,

What year was the first Banana Boat built?