If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Park Ridge, IL/ Sheridan Beach, IN

New to "go-fast" boats, question about Baja

I just bought my Fountain a couple of months ago, so I'm new to performance boating and not familiar with all the different brands of boats yet. After riding in my boat, by brother in law wants a boat now as well, but he only has about $40k to spend on a used boat. He's been looking in the local boat traders, Boattraderonline,, ebay, etc and found a couple of Baja boats that he likes and that are within his price range. However, they seem less expensive than most comparable boats, and also slower. They seem like nice boats, but I'm just not personally familiar with them, never actually seen or ridden on one in person and want to give him the bottom line. They seem to be very popular.

My previous boating experience was all Cruisers, so I'm wondering if Baja is the equivalent of Bayliner in go-fasts. I am not trying to offend any Baja owners, my brother in law would just like to know how they compare to other high-performance boats in terms of quality, reputation, performance, etc. Thank you.
    Last edited by Monty; 07-20-2003 at 09:31 PM.

Charter Member #927 Charter Member Payton's Avatar
    My Boats:
    1991 34' Super Hawaii
    I'm not sure that's a fair representation of what a peasure boat would do.
    Baja's are mass produced, there for they can be made less expensive. Which also lowers resale. A well cared for Baja can last many, many years. Look it over closely and get a marine survey done. Your insurance company and/or your lender may require it, anyway. It's now a Fountain or Cigarette, but it's way more than a Bayliner.

Welcome to the sport and to the board.

My Boats: