Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   I Went To The Hospital Today...Twice (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/64273-i-went-hospital-today-twice.html)

mopower 11-20-2003 07:33 PM

Definitely a scarey situation. I'm no doctor but I have see similar problems all related to stress:crazy: , and given the stories of your life recently , you certainly qualify:rolleyes:
Hope your feeling better now...relax mon:cool:

magnuman 11-20-2003 07:37 PM

Mitch,
About 8 years ago I went through a similar time in my life. My marriage was breaking apart and I was also breaking up a business partnership. Needless to say, there was a great deal of stress. I had the same symptoms that you had plus the left side of my body went numb during a meeting and I had a momentary loss of the understanding of speech. I was rushed to the hospital and had every test performed on me. They ruled out stroke and heart attack. I had stress tests performed and all checked out fine. At that time I was running 5 - 8 miles daily and working out in the gym 1- 2 hrs per day, so physically I was very strong.
Anxiety and stress can play real nasty tricks on your body. The spells continued for at least another year. Chest tightening, dizziness, loss of equilibrium, shallow breathing, and faintness.
While this is happening you can also loose you natural rythm in breathing with only exacerbates the problems.

The most important things you can be doing during these times is to take moments during the day to relax.
Try not to drink too much. Get enough sleep for your body to deal with the stress. VERY IMPORTANT!!!!!
Deal with the causes of the stress quickly and rationally.