If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Flemington, N.J. U.S.A

Pulling 45' Sonic with Excusion ,NJ to FL. Any thoughts ?

I have plenty of experience pulling large things .Just NOT with a Ford Excursion diesel. Anyone tow large heavy boats any distance with one ? Give me some input on your experiences .

Have to go from NJ to Sonic in Florida for repairs .

Also any input on getting repairs done at Sonic and by who ? Thanks , Joe

Platinum Member Platinum Member CigDaze's Avatar
    My Boats:
    Cigarette 35 Cafe Racer
    St. Petersburg, FL
    Good luck!

Take your time and slow up if it gets windy. I would REALLY prefer a dually for something that size for more than a 1000 miles. I have no doubt that the truck has the power to pull it, but it'll be a handful.

That's a BIG boat! I'm thinking a ton-er would be the way to go.

My Boats:
    Fast boats, Harleys
    Charleston, WV
    Practice a panic stop to see what you've got. Take it easy.

Charter Member #34 Charter Member Dock Holiday's Avatar
    Beautiful North Carolina
    Not enough truck for me!

Charter Member#1545 Charter Member
    My Boats:
    Grand Junction, Co.
    FWIW, I pull a rather heavy travel trailer(15000lbs.) with my Excursion and while it is not as competent a puller as the Super Duties, it does do the job. It is equipped with air bags which are a must, and the trailer has brakes on it. The Excursion, as Troutly stated is shorter which gives it a somewhat "loose" feel. If you HAVE to use the Excursion, just take your time and it will work, although you will have to "drive" it.

Flemington, N.J. U.S.A