Offshoreonly.com

Offshoreonly.com (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/)
-   General Boating Discussion (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion-51/)
-   -   o/t house advice needed (https://www.offshoreonly.com/forums/general-boating-discussion/65333-o-t-house-advice-needed.html)

GLH 12-04-2003 02:28 PM

I've built a few homes and it is a portion of what I do for a living. Call if you have some questions I could go over how the new home financing options work around here at least.
G.L. 802-734-8284

dhlaw 12-04-2003 02:33 PM

I agree with Open72, you need to give Jassman a shot at the plans. He is an honest and nice guy..... and a avid boater!!

RebarBox 12-04-2003 03:34 PM

I'm currently building a new home myself. A little differant than you, Hammer, as I sold my house first and am living in a rented duplex.

All I had to show my banker is an accurate estimated cost to complete and a simple floor plan. They provided me with a Construction Loan good for a year. We set up a seperate 'construction account' checking account. I need money, I just call the bank and tell them to deposit $10,000 or $20,000 when I need it. They bill me interest, only the money I have used, on a monthly basis.

Doing the work yourself is a real money saver. I should have about $155 K in mine and the banks appraiser valued my competed house and shop at $219 K - and thats only off a floor plan and a front elevation view of the completed house.

Be prepared to work your a$$ off, I haven't seen a weekend to myself in 5 months now and will not see one until mid-Feb. If you work a full time job now, it's like having TWO full time jobs.

Remember, If you do your own contracting or even hire a general - 'it ain't so, unless it's in writing!'

Good Luck!

JPD Motorsports 12-04-2003 06:34 PM