question for jet drive experts >

question for jet drive experts

Notices

question for jet drive experts

Old 08-20-2004, 06:02 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question question for jet drive experts

I need advice from people who know about jet drives and the way they operate. I am having a problem with a big 62' cruiser which is something like 55 000 lbs. It is powered by twin MAN V12 diesels @ 1200hp. and waterjets. The boat should run 46 knots or 53 mph at 2450 RPM. The trouble is, I am not getting anywhere near that. Infact, I can't get more than 25 knots or 29 mph out of it so there's obviously a problem. The engines are running fine, everything was checked and is OK. The jets were checked and cleaned. Everything's working and nothing obstructs the water flow. Now, I am very new to jets and I was told that I must learn how to use them. I was told that the boat was "sucking herself down" and that I must use trim tabs to bring her on plane and then accelerate by raising tabs up once the engines are over 2100 RPM.

So my question is: does this make any sense? Is there a special way to operate and handle a jet-powered boat and what is meant by "sucking-herself down"? Is this bona-fide jetspeak or just plain BS.

Also, any suggestions to cure the problem are greatly appreciated...

Thanks
Old 08-20-2004, 06:41 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: question for jet drive experts

I'm no expert put I'll toss in my .02.

On my jet ski's, when I first hit the throttle the stern does squat for a second, especially is shallow waters. I know that anything that isn't nailed down when I pass over it will get sucked up into the pump. In some circles it's called "The Hoover Effect". Like the vacum cleaner? So, I'd say it's possible for the pumps to suck the stern down. Those big pumps have to suck a lot of water before it make thrust.