Nieces brought over a PS2 for Christmas to play. We were playing a game and when they shut it off and turned it back on we had to start all over from the begining and lost what we had gained (points, ect.).
I guess there is some kind of card you have to buy extra to return to the same place on the game when the unit is turned off.
I'm sure someone can elaborate more on this.