WANTED - Engine Thermostat on 588 Merlin Big-Block

Notices

WANTED - Engine Thermostat on 588 Merlin Big-Block

Old 06-09-2005, 06:28 AM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WANTED - Engine Thermostat on 588 Merlin Big-Block

ME:
I've been a gearhead since 1964, but I'm relatively new to boats. My brother has owned several drag boats over the years, but this is the first offshore boat.

THE BOAT:
My brother just got this boat wth a big, fast low-hour 588 Merlin-block motor in an OffShore rig, but sees very little use above 3-grand. Only rarely full-throttle, and then only for 10-15 seconds at a time. I realize we're, essentially, driving a Ferarri in a Christmas parade, but the boat should work a little better than it's currently doing.

THE ISSUES:
Low oil temp, low coolant temp, carburetion is rich, plugs black, oil gets black, etc.. I know what to do for each of these, as well as how to do it. But this is a boat, not a car, and there are caveats and dangers... hence, my joining and posting to this forum. I need some expertise so I don't poop in my brother's very expensive nest.

BY-THE-GAUGES:
Built to survive tortuous, full-throttle marathons, this monster runs TOO COOL in (our) normal use. Coolant temp runs around 100-degrees on lake water (South Carolina), and the external cog-belt driven H2O pump drives coolant pressure to around 6 PSI in normal use. Oil temp is LOW, much lower than I'd like to see it, and the oil gets dark quicker than I'd like. I think we'd be way ahead of the game if we could wrestle a THERMOSTAT into the 588 Merlin and stabilize the coolant temp. Maintaining a reasonable coolant temp would also allow carb jetting (giant Dominator) to be made crisper as well, likely fixing the dirty oil issue while lowering fuel consumption to boot. It'd be win-win all around, but for the bugaboo..

THE PROBLEM: