Do I Need A New Alternator?

Notices

Do I Need A New Alternator?

Old 09-06-2005, 07:04 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I Need A New Alternator?

Over the weekend I noticed when i was trimming up the radio would shut off? then come back on? then noticed my volt gauge read 11.5v-12v while under way . When I got home I put a volt meter on the battery while running and it read 12.4 volts, is this to low? my first thought was was bad ground?
Old 09-06-2005, 07:12 PM
CMG
VIP Member
VIP Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Do I Need A New Alternator?

I'm no mechanic but if you put a meter on the battery while motor is running you'll get a pretty good idea if its the altenator. should be 14 atleat, motor off your checking the battery, 12.4 is low.
Old 09-06-2005, 07:17 PM
Gold Member
Gold Member

motor off was 11.8, motor on was 12.4? i thought that was low also, could it be anything else?
Old 09-06-2005, 07:31 PM
Registered

should be aprox 13.8 running
Attached Thumbnails Do I Need A New Alternator?-42pr2.jpg  
Old 09-06-2005, 08:50 PM
Registered

Full charged battery is 12.7 Depends on your volt meter as to what you see. Take your volt meter & put on your car/truck. Running voltage should be aprox. 13.8 volts, sometimes it will be higher & sometime lower. This will give you a good idea of what your meter is readiing. I would say your alt. needs to be replaced if the numbers you are giving is correct. Before you buy a new one have the one you have checked out first. Could also be a ground problem.
Old 09-06-2005, 09:50 PM
Registered