New to the BBC... >

New to the BBC...

Notices

New to the BBC...

Old 11-20-2005, 03:35 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to the BBC...

Hey guys, I am new to the boating world...

I have a 1996 22 Scarab with the Mercruiser 7.4 454. I have been looking around at different options for the motor to increase the power and rpm capability of the stock 454.

I have also read through the boards and seen bits and peices of stuff to do but not an overall reccomendation from one of you that is more seasoned than I.

If you had the above mentioned boat, and were starting from scratch... what would you do with the engine?

Do BBC rebuilds require specific things for marine applications vs street?

I have seen the 425hp rebuild kits that SDPC have...

Please keep in mind that I am military and I am on a budget... best bang for buck reccomendations only please. As I cant drop 10k for a short block.
Old 11-20-2005, 04:33 PM
Registered

Default Re: New to the BBC...

im definately not the expert here but, can i assume your talking a carb motor? or mpi? thatll make a huge difference in some responses here.
its my understanding...if carb.....find out which cyl heads you have, then cam intake and carb can be a good start on a budget.
im sure youll get some great answers from others in your same situation

kevin
Old 11-20-2005, 04:55 PM
Registered

Ummmm It dosent say MPI on the engine... It looks to be carb... Again.... I am kinda new

Last edited by Longrange4u; 11-20-2005 at 05:51 PM.
Old 11-20-2005, 06:54 PM
I hate the winter!!
Platinum Member

If you are looking for a few more reliable horsepower, I have a 454 Magnum MPI 385 horsepower @ the prop , 415 @ the crank. I dont need it anymore. I would let it go at a reasonable price.
Old 11-20-2005, 07:08 PM
Registered

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

ur prob better off findin a good low hour 454 or 502 that someone already put the money into. itll cost more to replicate than to find one done already