MSD Ignition .... >

MSD Ignition ....

Notices

MSD Ignition ....

Old 01-30-2007, 10:00 AM
Registered

Received 9 Likes on 8 Posts
Default MSD Ignition ....

MSD has a new "marine" control box 6m-2L (6560) .... I have been told that they aren't available and MSD doesn't know when they will be ... Any info out there ? m
Attached Thumbnails MSD Ignition ....-6560l.jpg  
Old 01-30-2007, 10:08 AM
TC
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: MSD Ignition ....

Dont know anything about it but I would purchase the marine ignition from Crane if I were buying again. Cranes box has advance curves programmed in and all you do is chose the one that fits your build. I have been running an MSD 6AL box for many years with no problems. After I built my new engine I had to start searching for Thunderboldt ignition modules to fit my needs. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!
Old 01-30-2007, 10:18 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by TC
Dont know anything about it but I would purchase the marine ignition from Crane if I were buying again. Cranes box has advance curves programmed in and all you do is chose the one that fits your build. I have been running an MSD 6AL box for many years with no problems. After I built my new engine I had to start searching for Thunderboldt ignition modules to fit my needs. Just my 2 cents. Good luck!
I would recommend going with the Crane unit also.
Old 01-30-2007, 02:01 PM
Platinum Member
Platinum Member

Me too.
Old 01-30-2007, 02:16 PM
Registered

Originally Posted by TC
I talked to crane and they said the curves are specific for the merc motors they list .. They Also told me they dont have a Distributor that will work in a Mercruiser .. .. guess I should have told em it was for a truck ...

HI-6M Marine Ignition

? FireBall HI-6M increases HP, torque, RPM and throttle response!
? 3x more spark-gap energy than comparable ignitions!
? Surface-mount, robotics assembly technology and fully-digital design delivers far greater unit reliability!