454 engine/blower help >

454 engine/blower help

Notices

454 engine/blower help

Old 03-28-2007, 08:38 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 454 engine/blower help

i have an 89 lightning with two 454's in it, turns out they popped the frost plugs when the last owner had it, i pulled both engines, and was going to go through them cause they had 427 hours on them, was also gonna add the weiand 256 blowers, problem is, i dont know much about boats at all, this is my first project, what should i do as far as freshening up the engines? compression? cam? carb? stock heads decent? a guy in town has a set of new 525 heads that he removed from his boat to upgrade, are those a good head for me to upgrade to at a good deal? or should i just keep stock ones?
Thanks for ANY help.
Old 03-29-2007, 03:25 AM
Charter Member # 55
Charter Member

Received 1,821 Likes on 907 Posts

The biggest question is how much HP do you want to make and how much do you want to spend????

You should be able to make a reliable 600HP engine with the stock rect port heads, 8:1 compression, and 5lbs of boost and run on pump gas.

What kind of drives do you have????? Going much beyond about 600HP with a TRS or Bravo drive is asking for problems, especially in a heavy boat.
Old 03-29-2007, 06:13 AM
Gold Member
Gold Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Like Griff said, big heavy looooong boat! Its a drive killer with big power. You might want to change over to 502's if you can, less $ to make 550 to 600 hp. If not leave your 454's in, do some nice head work by a reputable shop and stick a 256 Weind on top or something smaller like a 174 and make 525 to 550 hp. Theres a lot of 525sc's still running today.

Good luck!

John S.
Old 03-29-2007, 09:02 AM
Registered

Received 78 Likes on 47 Posts

Originally Posted by turbosonoma
i have an 89 lightning with two 454's in it.....Thanks for ANY help.