502 with a few shake down problems >

502 with a few shake down problems

Notices

502 with a few shake down problems

Old 09-04-2007, 12:09 PM
Registered

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 502 with a few shake down problems

I have recently rebuilt from the crank up a 95 502 EFI. In the process I added a hotter cam, roller rockers, stainless valves, and stainless marine exhaust in preparation to add a Procharger after I have some additional time on it. Still has stock circulating pump and stock EFI system. This weekend I finally got it on the water for first shake down. It ran fine for about 15 minutes then stopped dead in the water. After about 2 minutes it would restart but then die again in under 30 seconds. It has new filters and am running 89 octane gas but am a little concerned that fuel is now 10% ethanol. Any possibilty of filter clogging because of this? It also runs stone cold even though I have a new 160 degree thermostat in it. My scan tool shows only a persistant MAP sensor failure even though that is also new.

Any thoughts? I am starting to get tired of all the electronics and am considering going back to a carb except I already have my Procharger which is set up for EFI. So I really want to make this work.

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Dave
Old 09-04-2007, 12:32 PM
Registered

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Originally Posted by seamate